Reservoir Characterization Project
Multi-disciplinary research
Practical Research Projects
for dynamic reservoir characterization
RCP at the Colorado School of Mines
Industry-focused research consortium
Integrated problem-solving
with a collaborative team approach

The Reservoir Characterization Project

RCP is an industry-funded geophysical research consortium dedicated to the study of integrated reservoir characterization. RCP’s unique model emphasizes a multidisciplinary, collaborative team approach for practical research and preparation of graduate students. Working closely with industry sponsors, RCP explores new methods and technologies to gain improvements in reservoir performance prediction and optimization. 

Phase XVII Research

Research starts July 1, 2017 on a new project titled, The Eagle Ford Stimulation Monitor Project, provided by field operator Devon Energy. The program utilizes time-lapse reservoir characterization methods using a wide range of data in an integrated study to develop a strategic plan for life of field production.  


Welcome from Dr. Ali Tura, RCP Director


"The unconventional resources challenge can only be solved by integrated work and new technology. The more diverse information we gather, the better we can understand the subsurface. Even a slight change in drilling or completion practices as a result of this wll significantly impact the bottom line."


RCP PHASE XVI -- Wattenberg Field, Colorado USA

This project is an unconventional shale reservoir study conducted with field sponsor Anadarko Petroleum Corporation. The research began in 2013 under Phase XV and continues in the current research phase. The study utilizes time-lapse 9-C seismic data, regional seismic, microseismic, geological information, and reservoir engineering and completions information to analyze performance within the Niobrara and Codell Shale reservoirs in a concentrated study area. Gaining a greater understanding of the stimulated reservoir volume and produced reservoir volume will help guide future drilling and completions decisions and help diagnose and predict reservoir performance. 


                            Landmark left EB      sp inpva                Paragon1          Seismogenic  sp sigma